Alzheimer’s Delay Device

I discovered this game on the computer called Super Bounce Out. You are presented with a screen filled with all different colored balls. You line them up into rows of at least three of the same color by clicking on two balls, which exchange places. When you’ve formed a line of three, those three will bounce out of the screen and send the neighboring balls ricocheting against each other to form new patterns. There’s a time limit, and if you don’t clear enough balls during the limit for that level, the whole screen explodes and gives you this little “nyah nyah” sound, just to make sure you know you stink at this game. (Michael thinks the sound is more “beep boop” but whatever it is, it still means you stink.) If you clear the required number of balls, then you advance to succeeding levels, where rows of three (or four or five, if you’re good enough to make them) are worth more points. Of course, higher levels require you to clear more balls, so the excitement builds. Got it? Oh, and there’s this guy saying “boing, boing, boing” while all the balls are bouncing around.

You may think this is a colossal waste of time, but I can think of three good things about it:

1) I enjoy it, and the better I play, the more I enjoy it.

2) Playing seems to release a part of my brain that does its best work when I’m not watching. So I come up with good ideas while I’m playing.

3) The other part of my brain (the part that’s playing the game) has to be alert, and has to look for patterns, and anticipate patterns that will form as balls bounce out of the screen. There’s also hand-eye coordination from using the mouse. This is good exercise, i.e., an Alzheimer’s Delay Device.

If all that sounds like too much justification, then stop after No. 1.

When I first started playing Super Bounce Out, I couldn’t find the patterns fast enough. I got “nyah nyah-ed” very quickly. I was lucky to score 3,000 points (baby stuff). Naturally, the more I played, the better I got. I learned to recognize set-ups for aligning four or five balls and my scores started to reflect it. On the day I first reached 100,000 points, I felt like a teenager. Now, 100,000 points is routine. I am writing this post to announce to the world that I have scored 369,938!

But I have no objective idea whether that’s fantastic, really good, average, or still baby stuff (compared to an actual teenager). So you people out there who play Super Bounce Out, please tell me how I’m doing? I really need to know.

Published in: on July 17, 2006 at 9:27 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://judyrose.wordpress.com/2006/07/17/alzheimers-delay-device/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Ha, try Avalance (Yahoo games), if you like SBO you’ll love this one. Warning: It is addictive.


Leave a Reply

